Shin pads | Priority Football

The Shin Catch: Does It Count As Two Feet In Football?

Shin pads | Priority Football

By  Berta Bernier
**The NFL catch rule. Just reading those words is enough to send shivers down the spine of even the most seasoned football fan. It's a rule that has sparked endless debates, ignited Twitter storms, and left countless viewers scratching their heads in confusion. From spectacular grabs being overturned to seemingly impossible catches being upheld, the definition of a "catch" in professional football remains one of the game's most perplexing mysteries. But perhaps no aspect of this enigmatic rule generates more discussion than the question of what constitutes "getting down" inbounds. Specifically, a question that often surfaces, especially after a controversial play, is: does a shin count as two feet in football?** The answer to this seemingly simple question is far more nuanced than you might imagine, delving deep into the intricacies of the NFL rulebook and the interpretations made by officials in real-time. Understanding this requires a journey through the core components of a legal catch, examining specific examples, and contrasting the NFL's stringent requirements with those of other leagues. Let's unravel this gridiron enigma.

The Elusive NFL Catch Rule: A Constant Debate

For decades, the NFL catch rule has been a source of frustration for players, coaches, and fans alike. It's often cited as one of the most difficult rules to consistently apply, leading to controversial calls that can swing the momentum, or even the outcome, of a game. This is not an obscure rule; in fact, it's one of the most common rules in all of football, constantly in play on every pass attempt. Yet, its application often feels anything but straightforward. The very complexity arises from the dynamic nature of football plays, where players are often in motion, under duress, and making split-second decisions. The NFL's continuous effort to refine the rule aims for clarity, but the inherent speed and physicality of the game often create situations that defy simple black-and-white interpretation.

What Defines a Catch in the NFL? The Core Elements

To understand whether a shin counts as two feet, we first need to lay out the fundamental requirements for a legal catch in the National Football League. The NFL has decided that the best way to define a catch is to require the player making the catch to do three distinct things. These three elements must occur in sequence, and all must be fulfilled for a pass reception to be deemed complete.

Control of the Ball

The very first and arguably most crucial element is gaining control of the ball. This means the receiver must secure the ball firmly in their hands or arms. It's not enough for the ball to simply touch their hands; there must be a clear demonstration of possession. This often involves the receiver wrapping their hands around the ball, tucking it, or otherwise showing that they have a firm grip. If the ball is bobbled or jostled loose before the subsequent steps are completed, it's generally not considered control. This initial control is the foundation upon which the rest of the catch is built.

Getting Down Inbounds: The "Two Feet" Rule and Beyond

Once control is established, the receiver must get down inbounds. This is where the "two feet" rule comes into play, and it's where much of the confusion, including the question of whether a shin counts as two feet, originates. The rulebook states that a receiver must get two feet or one other body part (other than a hand) on the ground inbounds. This means: * **Both feet:** The receiver must touch the ground inbounds with both their left foot and right foot, in any order. This is the most common scenario for a catch. * **One other body part:** If both feet do not come down, the receiver can still complete the catch by getting any part of their body other than their hands or feet down inbounds. This could be a knee, an elbow, a hip, or as we'll explore, a shin. The critical aspect here is that this "other body part" must be firmly on the ground inbounds. The phrasing "touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands" is key. It explicitly allows for body parts other than feet to fulfill the requirement, provided they are inbounds.

The "Football Move"

Finally, after gaining control and getting down inbounds, the player must perform any act common to the game. This is often referred to as "making a football move." This move demonstrates that the player has truly established himself as a runner and is no longer merely in the process of making the catch. Examples of a football move include: * Tucking the ball away * Extending the ball forward * Taking an additional step * Turning upfield * Avoiding or warding off an opponent * Maintaining control of the ball long enough after the first two steps. This third step is crucial because it signifies the completion of the catch process. Without a football move, even if the player has control and gets two feet down, the catch can be overturned if the ball comes loose before the move is made. This is the part of the rule that often frustrates fans, as a player can seem to have made a catch, only for it to be nullified by a subsequent loss of control before a clear "football move" is observed.

The "Two Feet" Conundrum: Is One Foot Twice Enough?

A common misconception revolves around the "two feet" requirement. Many wonder, if a receiver lands on one foot, then hops again on the same foot, does that count as two feet? The answer, unequivocally, is no. It’s not enough for one foot to hit twice. The rule specifically requires two distinct feet. As the data suggests, "both feet" not "two feet" is the key term, implying the requirement for a left foot and a right foot. This was famously illustrated by what Steelers receiver George Pickens did in the back of the end zone. He made a spectacular grab, with his right foot striking twice inbounds, but his left foot never came down. Despite the incredible athleticism and the two contacts with the ground, it was not ruled a catch because it was the same foot making contact twice. This scenario often leads to frustrated questions like "Does one foot twice not count as two feet?" or "Is two right foots a catch?" The NFL's interpretation is clear: you need two *different* feet to touch down. As JJ Watt famously tweeted, highlighting the ongoing debate: "Is two right foots a catch? That’s still two steps right. That feels like it should be a catch." This sentiment reflects the common fan's perspective, but the rulebook's interpretation is stricter.

The Shin, Ankle, and Other Body Parts: Are They "Down"?

Now, to the heart of the matter: **does a shin count as two feet in football?** The simple answer, according to NFL rule interpretation, is that a shin, or any other body part (excluding hands), can fulfill the "getting down inbounds" requirement, effectively acting as the equivalent of the "two feet" rule. It's not that a shin *is* two feet, but rather that it can *substitute* for the second foot, or even both feet, if it's the first body part to touch down after control. The rulebook states you must be completely in bounds when both your feet or any body part that is not your hands or a foot touches the ground. This phrasing is critical. It explicitly allows for a receiver to make a catch by landing on a knee, elbow, hip, or indeed, a shin, provided it is inbounds and control is maintained.

The Garrett Wilson Play: A Shin as "Two Feet"?

A prime example that brought this rule into the spotlight occurred during Week 9, when officials ruled Garrett Wilson’s catch a touchdown. Why? Because the NFL counts a shin as just like two feet in this context. Wilson secured the ball, and his shin was the first body part to make contact with the ground inbounds, followed by him maintaining control and making a football move. This play perfectly illustrated that a shin *can* be sufficient to complete the second part of the catch requirement. It's a testament to the rule's flexibility, acknowledging that players don't always land perfectly on their feet.

John Madden's Wisdom: "One Knee Equals Two Feet"

This concept isn't new. Legendary coach and commentator John Madden famously codified a similar idea in his book, "One Knee Equals Two Feet (and everything else you need to know about football)" (1986). While Madden's adage specifically referred to a knee, the principle is the same: certain body parts, when inbounds, are considered sufficient to establish possession for a catch. This highlights a long-standing understanding within football that landing on something other than two feet can still result in a completed catch. The only obscure part here is often when does the ankle end and the shin starts, leading to micro-debates on the exact point of contact. However, the overarching principle is clear: a shin, knee, or elbow can be the "down" point.

College vs. NFL: A Tale of Two Catch Rules

It's important to note that NFL touchdown rules differ significantly from those of college and other professional leagues. This distinction often contributes to the confusion among fans who watch both levels of football. In college, a receiver is required to get only one foot down in the end zone to score a touchdown. This simpler rule makes for fewer controversial calls regarding catches in college football. The NFL's two-foot rule (or one other body part equivalent) is a more stringent requirement, designed, perhaps, to make catches more challenging and definitive. This difference means that a spectacular one-foot sideline grab that would be a touchdown in a college game would be incomplete in the NFL if the second foot or an equivalent body part doesn't also come down inbounds. This contrast underscores why fans might find the NFL rule particularly frustrating or hard to grasp, as their understanding from other leagues might lead to different expectations.

Breaking the Plane: Does the Ball Still Need to Cross the Goal Line?

Another common area of confusion, often intertwined with the catch rule, is the requirement for a touchdown. But, to be considered a touchdown, does the ball not still need to break the plane of the goal line, even if the receiver gets two feet down in the end zone, with control? Yes, absolutely. The catch rule and the goal line rule are distinct, though both must be satisfied for a touchdown. As far as touchdowns go, all the ball has to do is cross the line. It doesn’t matter where the player is. This is why you will see some highlight plays where the player dives at the corner but goes out of bounds (in the air still) but he kept the ball in the field of play and it crosses the touchdown line. The ball simply needs to break the invisible plane extending infinitely upwards from the goal line. So, a receiver can make a legal catch in the end zone, but if the ball hasn't crossed the plane, it's not a touchdown until it does. This distinction is crucial for understanding plays that end near the goal line.

Why So Complex? The NFL's Pursuit of Clarity

The NFL's catch rule, despite its complexity, is an attempt to define a definitive moment when a pass becomes a reception. The league has repeatedly tweaked the rule in an effort to reduce ambiguity and ensure consistency. The three-part process—control, getting down, and making a football move—is designed to leave no doubt that the player has truly possessed the ball and is no longer merely in the act of catching it. The rationale behind requiring two feet (or an equivalent body part) rather than just one, as in college, is rooted in the idea of making catches more challenging and less prone to "lucky" bounces. As one might think, "these guys are the best of the best football players, it would be too easy for them to only drag one foot for a catch." The stricter rule aims to ensure that a catch is a deliberate and controlled action, reflecting the high level of athleticism and precision expected in the NFL. Even with detailed rules, the fast-paced nature of football means that officials often have to make split-second judgments in highly ambiguous situations. The line between an ankle and a shin, or a brief loss of control versus maintaining possession, can be incredibly fine. This is where the human element of officiating, and the possibility of coach's challenges, comes into play.

The Ankle/Calf Debate: Was Slayton's Catch Valid?

Consider the 40-yard grab by Darius Slayton, where he was ruled out of bounds. It appeared that his ankle/calf was down in bounds. This immediately sparks the question: "Am I overthinking this or could that have potentially been challenged on that?" The confusion stems from the fact that ankle/calf are considered "down" for purposes of a tackle (a player is down when a part of their body other than hands or feet touches the ground, like the knee, elbow, hip, or head). This leads to the assumption that the "two-foot rule" might not be applicable, and you just need one other body part down in bounds (similar to your butt). However, for a pass play, a receiver must have control of the ball with either two feet down, or equivalent (e.g., a shin, knee, etc.). If Slayton's ankle/calf was indeed inbounds and he maintained control and made a football move, it *should* have been a catch. The challenge here lies in the visual evidence and the official's real-time judgment. The only obscure part here is often when the ankle ends and the shin starts, making these calls incredibly difficult to get right every time.

Beyond the Catch: Downed Player Rules and Safety

While the focus here is on the catch rule, it's worth briefly touching upon the "downed player" rules, as they sometimes cause confusion when compared to catch requirements. In NCAA football, a player is down when a part of their body other than the hands or feet touches the ground, like the knee, elbow, hip, or head. Defenders are required to treat a sliding runner as they would a runner who is down by contact. These rules primarily govern when a play is whistled dead due to contact or a player going to the ground, which is distinct from the requirements for completing a pass reception. While a shin or knee can make a catch valid, it can also signal the end of a play if the player is tackled or falls to the ground in that manner. The distinction lies in the context: is the player attempting to secure a pass, or is the play ending due to contact or self-downing?

Conclusion

So, to definitively answer the question: **does a shin count as two feet in football?** Yes, in the context of the NFL catch rule, a shin (or a knee, elbow, or any body part other than the hands) can indeed fulfill the requirement of getting "down inbounds," effectively serving as the equivalent of a second foot. The key is that the player must first establish control of the ball, then get that body part inbounds, and finally, make a definitive "football move" while maintaining control. The NFL's catch rule remains one of the most debated and scrutinized aspects of the game, a complex tapestry woven from control, contact, and continuity. While controversial calls will undoubtedly continue to spark discussion, understanding the nuances—like the fact that a shin can indeed seal the deal on a spectacular catch—helps us appreciate the intricate dance between player athleticism, rulebook precision, and official interpretation that defines professional football. What are your thoughts on the shin catch? Have you seen a play where you disagreed with the ruling based on a body part contact? Share your insights and experiences in the comments below, and let's keep the conversation going! If you found this deep dive helpful, consider sharing it with fellow football enthusiasts or exploring our other articles on the fascinating world of NFL rules and regulations.
Shin pads | Priority Football
Shin pads | Priority Football

Details

JIZZU 2 Pairs Shin Pads Boys, Lightweight Kids Shin Pads Protective
JIZZU 2 Pairs Shin Pads Boys, Lightweight Kids Shin Pads Protective

Details

Shin Pads In Football at Jamie Gibb blog
Shin Pads In Football at Jamie Gibb blog

Details

Detail Author:

  • Name : Berta Bernier
  • Username : murazik.houston
  • Email : considine.tavares@windler.com
  • Birthdate : 1997-09-18
  • Address : 517 Jan Heights Apt. 393 Hegmannmouth, DC 13788
  • Phone : (224) 777-8108
  • Company : Romaguera, Lindgren and O'Connell
  • Job : Rental Clerk
  • Bio : Officia quod sunt aliquam accusamus ut quas. Et deserunt libero aspernatur deleniti accusantium error. Sed nam dolores dolores veritatis omnis quia.

Socials

facebook:

tiktok:

  • url : https://tiktok.com/@ethanbednar
  • username : ethanbednar
  • bio : Aspernatur ex omnis atque laboriosam. Hic vero qui maiores beatae accusantium.
  • followers : 1663
  • following : 3000

linkedin: